The Truth About Long Distance Relationships

 

IMG_0081.JPG

Welcome back everyone, hope you like today’s blog post. It won’t relate to everyone but it’s worth a read to those who don’t understand long distance relationships.

So for those of you that don’t know me you most likely won’t know I’m in a long distance relationship, for almost two years now I’ve been in a relationship with Chris who lives in England (I live in Ireland).
I’ve gotten messages from people who are in Ldrs asking to write up a blog about it, so here it goes.

When telling people I’m in a ldr sometimes I get weird looks, often times people would ask “are you sure he is who he says he is?” Thats an understandable question, when I say “yeah he’s real, we FaceTime and snapchat etc so there’s no way it’s not him”(now I can say I’ve met him twice).

You’d think that’s a good enough answer right? Wrong… some still think that’s not right, that being in a long distance relationship means it’s not a real relationship. Personally I disagree, my understanding of a real relationship is a relationship where there’s two people (unless it’s a different type of relationship, each to their own) who care for each other deeply, show love towards each other and make each other happy regardless of distance.

Another comment that’s commonly mentioned when you say you’re in
a ldr is “I’m sure that won’t last”, this one pisses me off quite a bit.

Yes there are long distance relationships that fail whether it’s from the distance or other reasons, however there are relationships that aren’t long distance that fail too.

The success of each and every relationship is determined by the people in it. Every relationship has bumps in the road and just because some people’s is distance doesn’t mean it’s going to fail, it simply means it’s going to take more work.

Long distance relationships have gotten a bit of a bad reputation from tv shows such as “Catfish”. The people that go on the show “Catfish” are people in a ldrs and have never FaceTimed their significant other properly, or at least don’t have proof that they are who they say they are.

That’s why a lot of the time when we openly say that we’re in a long distance relationship we get asked more questions than other couples.

More about LDRs:
Long distance relationships are special. Long distance means that most of the time all you can do is talk on the phone, couples in ldrs tend to know each other more in a shorter space of time.

‘Poor Connection’ is the vain of our existence, that one day when you miss them so much your internet decides to act up.

However one of the pros of long distance is you have someone there for you constantly, someone who’ll show you love even though their hundreds of miles away.

You get to travel to other countries, visit places you may have never been to before.

Long distance relationships are hard, you go months maybe years without seeing each other but when you it’s the most amazing feeling. Each time you meet it’s that feeling over and over again, no matter how long your trip is it’s never long enough.

Hope you guys liked it, in parts I was painfully honest but yeah.

Just a bit about my future blogs:
I’m in a group chat with a few new bloggers and we’ve been talking about topics to talk about on our blogs. It made me think about mine so I just wanted to clarify that my blog is going to be a bit of everything, for the next year I’ll be blogging about a ton of different topics. Next year I’ll be making my blog posts more specific, I’ll pick the topics I love to write about the most and be basing my blog around all of those topics.

New blog post about my favourite hair products will be up soon! If you want me to write my opinions on something or to write a post about something then be sure to get in contact.

Amy x

Social media:
Blog Instagram: mainly_amy
Personal Instagram: amy_xo46
Snapchat: Amy120808
Twitter: mainly_amy
Email: amy1louise2@gmail.com
Blog: https://mainlyamy.wordpress.com/

9 thoughts on “The Truth About Long Distance Relationships

  1. Hello lovely ! What a great blog you have going I can’t wait to follow your stories ! I am married to my ldr in fact to go one step further he was my holiday romance that started in Spain he lived in London I lived in gort after many months of traveling to see each other I jumped ship and I’m so glad I put in the hard work as he was my soulmate ! Stick with it and never let anyone tell you what you feel isn’t real or that it won’t work ! Stay happy positive and above all stay being you ! πŸ’—

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Rebekah! Thank you so much x I love hearing stories like that, it’s definitely something worth sticking to. Hard but amazing ☺️ So glad you’re both together now! Thank you for reading my blog really appreciate it x

      Like

  2. Awww I love reading other people’s experiences! I’ve had all the same frustrating questions πŸ™„πŸ˜‚ How long ago did you guys met for the first time. Haydn and I met 6th April 2016 and that’s when we officially started our ‘boyfriend/girlfriend’ relationship! I’d love to know more about this new bloggers group! I’m new too so am always looking to connect with similar people! P.S. I’m Charlotte from @211_miles and @charliestarblogs on Instagram!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same I’m always on Instagram looking at ldr pages and reading others experiences. We met on August 7th 2016, Chris came over for two weeks for my birthday☺️ We decided on June 4th 2015 to be officially boyfriend/girlfriend as we had been talking for over two years before then. It was so hard at that point because our parents didn’t know about it, but it’s all working out! I’m still trying to get the hang of blogging but it’s quite fun. You get to interact with loads of different people! I’ll follow u on both, mine is @mainly_amy and @amy_xo46 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

